Sunday, September 12, 2010

The Widow of Larkspur Inn

The Widow of Larkspur Inn is the first book in the Gresham Chronicles, a series of books by Lawana Blackwell.  Set in Gresham, England in the mid-late 1800s, it's a sweet and charming story of Julia Hollis and her family. Three weeks after her husband passes away, Julia learns that he gambled away their fortune. As the bankers arrive to foreclose on her home, they leave her with one bleak hope. The Larkspur Inn, a property that belonged to her late husband's family, is still available. At the suggestion of her butler, Julia moves her family out to the country to start a lodging house. Learning to start her life over and begin anew brings many changes to Julia and her three children.
 Per the back of the book:
When life seemed it's worst, Gresham awaited.
Julia Hollis's opulent life in Victorian London crashes to pieces when her husband passes away. Worse, she is told by his bankers that he gambled away their fortune. Now the family's hope rests on The Larkspur, an old abandoned coaching inn in the quaint village of Gresham. 
Driven by dread and her desire to provide for her children, Julia  decides to turn the dilapidated inn into a lodging house. But can she-who was accustomed to servants attending to every need-do what needs to be done and cope when boarders begin arriving? And then an eligible new vicar moves into town...

It was such a sweet story, flowing quite smoothly as you get to know the Hollis' and the six lodgers that soon become family. I look forward to reading the other books in this series!

*I received this book courtesy of Bethany House Publisher's book review program. All opinions are my own.*

1 comment: